What is Third Eye Awakening?

Share |

Just like the two eyes you have, you have a third possibility to perceive not only the whole world, but the whole Cosmos. Third eye awakening is a new possibility.

The heart and lungs are internal organs. Whereas, the third eye is an intra organ. The third eye is not used for seeing only. It can be used to hear, touch, feel and work as well. Third eye is a powerful new possibility. It is called the third eye because the moment it is activated, the first thing that happens is that you will be able to see with your two eyes closed.

Third Eye Opens a New Dimension of Life!

The third eye awakens not just your ordinary needs, like health and wealth, but rather, a whole new dimension of life. This happens when your Kundalini Shakti (innate potential energy) is awakened, and raised to your eyebrow center. Between your eyebrows and nose is the point where the third eye is available. When your third eye is awakened, you start perceiving all of life as a higher dimension, with higher possibility. Your Kundalini Shakti starts staying in higher planes so that it always keeps you in the next level of completion, with the highest energy, highest health and peak possibilities. All your peak possibilities open.

When a lamp is lit and you take another lamp near it, the flame jumps to the unlit lamp. The same thing happens near the awakened Third eye of an Enlightened Master. In the Shiva Agamas, Mahadeva has given a beautiful technique: Shaktipada. The word ‘Shaktipada’ is described in Agamas as transmission of energy to awaken your Kundalini Shakti and third eye. If your third eye is awakened, you will be able to see without using your physical eyes. You will be able to hear without using your physical ears. Many multiple powers and possibilities begin to open.

Third Eye is Conscious Seeing

Third Eye vision is nothing but ‘Conscious seeing’. Conscious seeing means, seeing from your inner space – your consciousness. It is seeing with awareness – seeing before your thoughts have influenced your understanding and experience. It is seeing the existential reality as it is, without judgement. This itself becomes a power.

The Maya Matrix is the network of illusion that makes you believe that everything you perceive using your five senses is reality. It deludes you into believing that what you remember of the past is what actually happened. It gives you the impression that life is full of suffering and pain.
You usually take more than 50% of your life’s decisions through this screen of illusion. Only when the Third Eye is awakened, you can see the past as it happened. You start seeing the reality without judgment. You start seeing with awareness, before the thoughts rise in your inner space. You start operating outside of the network of illusion. Multiple powers and possibilities begin to open up in you.

Shaastra Pramaana

dhāmānta-kobhasambhūtasūkma-āgni-tilakāktīm |

bindu śikhānte hdaye layānte dhyāyato laya || 37 ||

Vijñāna Bhairava Tantra, sutra  37, dhāraa 14

dhāmāntaabode, dwelling place inside or within [antaḥ] (i.e. abode of light energy or eye); kobha: shaking, pressure, moving; sambhūtabeing, coming together, proceeding from; sūkma: subtle; agni: fire, flame; tilakāthe sacred mark at the center of eyebrows; aktīm: in the form of, shape of, resembling; binduone-pointśikhānte: at the end of the hair tuft on the crown; hdaye: in the heart cave; layānte: absorption; dhyāyataby the restful awareness;  layadissolution, rest, completion


By placing subtle pressure or awareness on the light energy in the eye, a spark of flame resembling the form of a tilaka mark [the sacred mark between the eyebrows, the ajna chakra] comes before the eye within. Placing the restful awareness on this bindu, the one-pointed flame in the third eye or at the energy center at the crown (śikānte) opens up in the heart cave. When this deep awareness reaches completion, there is absorption in the light of ultimate consciousness, the state of Sadashiva. 

Watch this video to learn more: